Sunday, July 14, 2024

Danish wins Hashim Khan Memorial tournament

Khan’s name on historic trophy upset in Peshawar
By Squash Mad Reporter

Danish with coach Fahim Gul
Danish with coach Fahim Gul

Pakistan number three Danish Atlas Khan fully capitalised on home advantage when he upset top-seeded compatriot Nasir Iqbal in the final of the Hashim Khan Memorial Pakistan International Squash Circuit II, staged at the Hashim Khan Squash Complex in Peshawar

Following the death of squash legend Hashim Khan last week, at the age of 100, thePakistan Squash Federation renamed this PSA Challenger 10 international squash event the “Hashim Khan Memorial Pakistan International Squash Circuit” – and moved it from Islamabad to Peshawar, the city near where the Patriarch of the Khan squash dynasty was born.

Third seed Atlas Khan, appropriately also born and raised in Peshawar, reached the final against expectation after taking out the event’s No2 seed Farhan Zaman in a five-game semi-final marathon.

But the 20-year-old World No.73 still had enough in reserve to survive a 92-minute final battle against Iqbal, eventually overcoming the World No.41 from Bannu 12-10, 6-11, 8-11, 11-2, 11-5.

The triumph was Atlas Khan’s first victory over the Pakistan number one in four Tour meetings in the past two years – and marks the seventh PSA World Tour title of his career.

Results. PSA Challenger 10 Hashim Khan Memorial Pakistan International Squash Circuit II, Peshawar:

   1st round:
[1] Nasir Iqbal (PAK) bt [Q] Aqib Hanif (PAK) 8-11, 9-11, 12-10, 11-2, 11-1 (66m)
Yasir Ali Butt (PAK) bt [8] Syed Hamzah Shah Bukhari (PAK) 11-13, 8-11, 13-11, 11-3, 11-9 (75m)
Amaad Fareed (PAK) bt [6] Khawaja Adil Maqbool (PAK) 11-7, 11-9, 7-11, 12-14, 11-8 (70m)
Syed Ali Mujtaba Shah Bokhari (PAK) bt [4] Aamir Atlas Khan (PAK) 11-2, 4-11, 8-11, 11-4, 11-5 (43m)
[3] Danish Atlas Khan (PAK) bt Muhammad Saqib Yousaf (PAK) 11-9, 11-6, 11-9 (51m)
[7] Farhan Mehboob (PAK) bt [Q] Mansoor Zaman (PAK) 11-8, 11-9, 11-4 (34m)
[5] Tayyab Aslam (PAK) bt [Q] Waqas Mehboob (PAK) 11-8, 7-11, 13-11, 7-11, 11-4 (76m)
[2] Farhan Zaman (PAK) bt [Q] Zahir Shah (PAK) 11-7, 11-9, 11-7 (30m)
[1] Nasir Iqbal (PAK) bt Yasir Ali Butt (PAK) 11-8, 11-7, 7-11, 11-4 (55m)
Amaad Fareed (PAK) bt Syed Ali Mujtaba Shah Bokhari (PAK) 4-11, 11-2, 11-8, 10-12, 11-4 (66m)
[3] Danish Atlas Khan (PAK) bt [7] Farhan Mehboob (PAK) 8-11, 11-3, 12-10, 11-6 (72m)
[2] Farhan Zaman (PAK) bt [5] Tayyab Aslam (PAK) 8-11, 11-6, 11-7, 11-7 (40m)
[1] Nasir Iqbal (PAK) bt Amaad Fareed (PAK) 11-4, 11-9, 11-6 (32m)
[3] Danish Atlas Khan (PAK) bt [2] Farhan Zaman (PAK) 8-11, 9-11, 11-5, 11-3, 11-8 (70m)
[3] Danish Atlas Khan (PAK) bt [1] Nasir Iqbal (PAK) 12-10, 6-11, 8-11, 11-2, 11-5 (92m)

For all the latest Tour news:

Picture from social media


Read more

Latest News