Friday, April 19, 2024

English trio make main draw in the Worlds

Josh Masters (right) in action against Geoffrey Demont
Josh Masters (right) in action against Geoffrey Demont

Masters and Lake make World debuts in Cairo

English trio Jaymie Haycocks, Nathan Lake and Joshua Masters made it through qualifying to reach the main draw of the 2016 PSA Men’s World Championship.

In a surprise result, Joel Makin of Wales overcame England’s Tom Ford to join Welsh number one Peter Creed in the main draw.

After two days of intense qualification action the main draw for the 2016 PSA Men’s World Championship has been finalised, with 16 players, representing ten countries, securing their place to compete alongside the biggest names in the squash world for the sport’s most prestigious title.

A total of 64-players will take to the courts with aspirations of winning the $325,000 tournament when the first round of main draw action gets underway today (October 27) at Cairo’s Wadi Degla Club, in a roster that will include a plethora of World Championship debutants, including surprise qualifier Eain Yow Ng, the Malaysian World Junior Champion.

After overcoming a ranking difference of almost 90 places to defeat England’s Charles Sharpes, the World No.53, in the first round of qualification, the 18-year-old No.139 then came through in straight games against Jamaican Christopher Binnie – the No.76 – to reach the first round for the first time in his career.

“Coming here I didn’t even expect to get past the first round of qualification,” said Eain Yow.

“I just wanted to come to the World Championship, learn from the experience and take in as much from the top players as possible. But I’ve been playing well so I’m really pleased that I’ve come through to reach the main draw.

“There’s no pressure on me, so I’m enjoying being on the court and testing myself against the top players in the world. The past few results have proved that I can compete with them if I do the right things so I’m excited for the next challenge.”

He will now face Egyptian Mohamed Reda for a place in the second round while English pair Joshua Masters and Nathan Lake, Joel Makin of Wales, Germany’s Jens Schoor and Egyptian trio Mazen Gamal, Shehab Essam and Youssef Soliman will also make their World Championship debuts after coming through an action-packed final day of qualification.

A total of 21 nations will be represented when the first round begins, with all the action taking place at Cairo’s Wadi Degla Club. Tickets to watch the 2016 PSA Men’s World Championship are available to purchase exclusively via Ticket Marche:

Men’s Wadi Degla PSA World Championship 2016, Wadi Degla Club, Cairo, Egypt. (Prize fund $325,000).
First round:
[1] Mohamed Elshorbagy (EGY) v [Q] Rex Hedrick (AUS)
Lucas Serme (FRA) v Olli Tuominen (FIN)
Omar Abdel Meguid (EGY) v Nicolas Müller (SUI)
[14] Cameron Pilley (AUS) v Karim Ali Fathi (EGY)
[10] Ali Farag (EGY) v Declan James (ENG)
James Willstrop (ENG) v [Q] Jaymie Haycocks (ENG)
Mohamed Reda (EGY) v [Q] Eain Yow Ng (MAS)
[8] Miguel Angel Rodriguez (COL) v [Q] Mahesh Mangaonkar (IND)
[6] Karim Abdel Gawad (EGY) v [Q] Nathan Lake (ENG)
Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY) v [Q] Shehab Essam (EGY)
Chris Simpson (ENG) v [Q] Alister Walker (BOT)
[16] Max Lee (HKG) v Zahed Mohamed (EGY)
[12] Simon Rösner (GER) v Diego Elias (PER)
Cesar Salazar (MEX) v [Q] Karim El Hammamy (EGY)
Leo Au (HKG) v [Q] Lance Beddoes (NZL)
[4] Nick Matthew (ENG) v Campbell Grayson (NZL)
[3] Omar Mosaad (EGY) v [Q] Shawn Delierre (CAN)
Nafiizwan Adnan (MAS) v Alan Clyne (SCO)
Gregoire Marche (FRA) v [WC] Youssef Ibrahim (EGY)
[15] Fares Dessouky (EGY) v Joe Lee (ENG)
[9] Mathieu Castagnet (FRA) v [Q] Mazen Gamal (EGY)
Daryl Selby (ENG) v Tom Richards (ENG)
Stephen Coppinger (RSA) v [LL] Evan Williams (NZL)
[5] Ramy Ashour (EGY) v Todd Harrity (USA)
[7] Marwan Elshorbagy (EGY) v Raphael Kandra (GER)
Ben Coleman (ENG) v [Q] Joshua Masters (ENG)
Abdulla Mohd Al Tamimi (QAT) v [Q] Youssef Soliman (EGY)
[11] Tarek Momen (EGY) v [Q] Peter Creed (WAL)
[13] Ryan Cuskelly (AUS) v [Q] Jens Schoor (GER)
Yip Tsz Fung (HKG) v [Q] Joel Makin (WAL)
Saurav Ghosal (IND) v Adrian Waller (ENG)
[2] Gregory Gaultier (FRA) v Paul Coll (NZL)

Qualifying finals:
Eain Yow Ng (MAS) bt Christopher Binnie (JAM) 11-8, 11-9, 11-9 (43m)
Mazen Gamal (EGY) bt Aqeel Rehman (AUT) 10-12, 11-1, 11-8, 11-7 (51m)
Nathan Lake (ENG) bt Jan van den Herrewegen (BEL) 11-9, 11-6, 11-7 (44m)
Mahesh Mangaonkar (IND) bt Carlos Cornes Ribadas (ESP) 11-9, 11-5, 11-6 (43m)
Jens Schoor (GER) bt James Huang (TPE) 6-11, 11-8, 7-11, 11-7, 11-5 (60m)
Peter Creed (WAL) bt Evan Williams (NZL) 11-9, 11-6, 11-5 (35m)
Lance Beddoes (NZL) bt Angus Gillams (ENG) 9-11, 11-5, 11-8, 11-8 (47m)
Rex Hedrick (AUS) bt Piedro Schweertman (NED) 11-8, 11-9, 7-11, 5-11, 11-6 (71m)
Alister Walker (BOT) bt Mohamed El Shamy (EGY) 11-1, 11-8, 11-2 (23m)
Shawn Delierre (CAN) bt Wong Chi Him (HKG) 11-5, 11-6, 6-11, 11-6 (51m)
Karim El Hammamy (EGY) bt Harinder Pal Singh Sandhu (IND) 6-11, 11-6, 5-11, 13-11, 12-10 (102m)
Jaymie Haycocks (ENG) bt Christopher Gordon (USA) 11-6, 4-11, 11-4, 11-9 (55m)
Joel Makin (WAL) bt Tom Ford (ENG) 11-8, 11-7, 11-7 (52m)
Joshua Masters (ENG) bt Geoffrey Demont (FRA) 11-6, 11-7, 11-9 (49m)
Shehab Essam (EGY) bt Vikram Malhotra (IND) 11-8, 11-9, 11-8 (35m)
Youssef Soliman (EGY) bt Iker Pajares Bernabeu (ESP) 11-8, 6-11, 11-8, 11-6 (67m)

1st qualifying round:
Eain Yow Ng (MAS) bt Charles Sharpes (ENG) 5-11, 11-4, 5-11, 12-10, 11-5 (53m)
Christopher Binnie (JAM) bt Ahmad Al-Saraj (JOR) 16-14, 14-12, 11-4 (53m)
Aqeel Rehman (AUT) bt Mohamed Elgawarhy (EGY) 12-10, 11-5, 11-3 (24m)
Mazen Gamal (EGY) bt Ammar Altamimi (KUW) 11-9, 11-8, 11-5 (33m)
Nathan Lake (ENG) bt Youssef Shawky (EGY) 11-6, 11-9, 11-1 (35m)
Jan van den Herrewegen (BEL) bt Ali Miski (LIB) 11-3, 11-4, 11-4 (17m)
Carlos Cornes Ribadas (ESP) bt Seifeldin Elshenawy (EGY) 11-2, 11-4, 11-6 (20m)
Mahesh Mangaonkar (IND) bt Omar El Torkey (EGY) 11-3, 7-11, 11-4, 11-7 (45m)
Jens Schoor (GER) bt Jaakko Vahamaa (FIN) 11-4, 11-6, 11-6 (28m)
James Huang (TPE) bt Robert Downer (ENG) 11-4, 11-6, 11-6 (34m)
Evan Williams (NZL) bt Khawaja Adil Maqbool (PAK) 11-8, 12-10, 12-10 (25m)
Peter Creed (WAL) bt Baptiste Masotti (FRA) 6-11, 11-7, 11-7, 11-7 (53m)
Angus Gillams (ENG) bt Ben Coates (ENG) 11-9, 11-6, 11-2 (26m)
Lance Beddoes (NZL) bt Bernat Jaume (ESP) 11-9, 11-8, 8-11, 8-11, 14-12 (63m)
Piedro Schweertman (NED) bt Matias Tuomi (FIN) 11-6, 11-8, 11-6 (28m)
Rex Hedrick (AUS) bt Christophe Andre (FRA) 11-7, 11-6, 11-9 (40m)
Alister Walker (BOT) bt Omar El Tahry (EGY) 11-5, 11-3, 11-4 (21m)
Mohamed El Shamy (EGY) bt Shahjahan Khan (PAK) 11-4, 11-5 ret. (16m)
Wong Chi Him (HKG) bt Addeen Idrakie (MAS) 7-11, 11-8, 11-4, 11-4 (45m)
Shawn Delierre (CAN) bt Ahmed Hussein (EGY) 10-12, 11-5, 8-11, 11-5, 11-6 (62m)
Karim El Hammamy (EGY) bt Youssef Hisham (EGY) 11-9, 11-9, 11-8 (29m)
Harinder Pal Singh Sandhu (IND) bt Sean Conroy (IRL) 11-6, 11-8, 13-11 (36m)
Jaymie Haycocks (ENG) bt Mohamed El Sayed (EGY) 11-4, 11-3, 11-4 (18m)
Christopher Gordon (USA) bt Karim Magdy (EGY) 11-8, 11-2, 11-6 (38m)
Tom Ford (ENG) bt Basem Makram (EGY) 11-8, 11-9, 11-4 (30m)
Joel Makin (WAL) bt Mostafa Montaser (EGY) 11-5, 11-2, 11-2 (22m)
Geoffrey Demont (FRA) bt Brian Byrne (IRL) 11-5, 9-11, 11-9, 11-6 (51m)
Joshua Masters (ENG) bt Marwan Tarek Abdelhamid (EGY) 11-9, 13-11, 14-16, 10-12, 12-10 (77m)
Vikram Malhotra (IND) bt Ahmad Al-Mudhaf (KUW) 11-4, 11-4, 11-3 (16m)
Shehab Essam (EGY) bt Adam Murrills (ENG) 10-12, 11-7, 11-7, 11-3 (47m)
Youssef Soliman (EGY) bt Mohd Syafiq Kamal (MAS) 11-3, 11-6, 13-11 (36m)
Iker Pajares Bernabeu (ESP) bt Ivan Yuen (MAS) 11-8, 11-8, 11-8 (49m)

Picture by 


Read more

Latest News