Sunday, July 14, 2024

Gregory Gaultier leads World Championship line-up in Qatar

French ace favourite to win first world title 
By Squash Mad Reporter

Gregory Gaultier is top seed for the World Championship

The entry list for the 2014 Qatar PSA World Squash Championship has been finalised, with current French World No.1 Gregory Gaultier topping the field for what promises to be one of the most fiercely contested World Championship tournaments in recent years when the sport’s elite descend on Doha, Qatar to compete for the most prestigious title in squash.

chigregwinGaultier, who has fallen at the final hurdle in four previous World Championship finals, will occupy the number one seeding in the 64-man event.


During the most successful spell of his career, in the past 12 months he has won the US Open, Windy City Open, British Open, European Open and the NetSuite Open in San Francisco.

The World No.2 Mohamed Elshorbagy, the dynamic 23-year-old Egyptian who beat him to the title during the recent Hong Kong Squash Open, takes the number two seed slot ahead of the tournament which takes place at the Khalifa International Tennis and Squash Complex from November 14-21.

Defending world champion Nick Matthew, the three-time winner who beat Gaultier in a thrilling 3-2 finale in 2013, will be seeded three as he guns for his fourth title but his long-time domestic rival James Willstrop, the man he beat to Gold during the 2014 Commonwealth Games, is a notable absentee from competition.

Willstrop, who lost the 2010 World Championship final to Matthew, underwent hip surgery in September and has been ruled out of competition until January 2015 while Ramy Ashour, the two-time Egyptian World Champion, looks to have ended a nightmare injury-run to take up his place in the draw.

The Cairo-based superstar has been plagued by recurring issues since his 15 month, 49-match unbeaten run ended in injury against Nick Matthew in the semi-finals of the 2013 PSA World Championship but he’ll be hoping to put that behind him with a stellar performance in Qatar.

The full draw for the 2014 Qatar PSA World Squash Championship will be released on Monday October 20.

2014 Qatar PSA World Squash Championship – Main Draw Entry List:

Name                             Country         World Ranking
Gregory Gaultier               FRA               1
Mohamed Elshorbagy       EGY              2
Nick Matthew                    ENG              3
Ramy Ashour                    EGY              4
Amr Shabana                    EGY              5
Borja Golan                       ESP              7
Peter Barker                      ENG             8
Daryl Selby                        ENG             9
Karim Darwish                   EGY           10
Omar Mossad                    EGY           11
Tarek Momen                     EGY           12
Simon Rösner                    GER           13
Miguel Angel Rodriguez     COL           14
Marwan Elshorbagy           EGY           15
Laurens Jan Anjema          NED           16
Saurav Ghosal                    IND            17
Karim Abdel Gawad           EGY           18
Mathieu Castagnet             FRA            19
Max Lee                             HKG            20
Nicolas Mueller                  SUI              21
Cameron Pilley                  AUS             22
Adrian Grant                      ENG             23
Stephen Coppinger            RSA             24
Alister Walker                     BOT             25
Chris Simpson                    ENG            26
Adrian Waller                      ENG            27
Gregoire Marche                FRA             29
Fares Dessouki                  EGY            30
Olli Tuominen                     FIN              31
Ong Beng Hee                   MYS            32
Tom Richards                     ENG            33
Joe Lee                              ENG            34
Henrik Mustonen                FIN              35
Mohamed Abouelghar        EGY            36
Mohd Nafiizwan Adnan      MYS            37
Alan Clyne                          SCO            38
Mazen Hesham                  EGY            39
Leo Au                                HKG            41
Shaun Le Roux                   RSA            42
Ryan Cuskelly                     AUS            43
Nasir Iqbal                           PAK            44
Zahed Mohamed                 EGY            45
Campbell Grayson              NZL             46
Karim Ali Fathi                    EGY             48


Read more

Latest News