Monday, July 15, 2024

Marwan ElShorbagy top seed at Wimbledon Club Squash Squared Open

Marwan ElShorbagy and Declan James will be competing in the Squash Squared Open at Wimbledon

Declan James leads strong English contingent at Wimbledon

Egypt’s World No.11 Marwan ElShorbagy will lead the line-up at the Wimbledon Club Squash Squared Open when the PSA World Tour Bronze tournament takes place from May 11-16 in London, England.

This year’s tournament, which takes place at The Wimbledon Club, will be the fourth instalment of the event and the largest to date with a prize purse of $50,000 on offer.

Last season saw France’s Mathieu Castagnet claim the title, his first PSA title triumph in two years, and the Frenchman will once again return to defend his title at this year’s event.

ElShorbagy and Castagnet will be joined by some big names in men’s squash, including Egypt’s former World No.3 Omar Mosaad, England’s No.1 Declan James and former World No.1 James Willstrop.

James Willstrop will be keen to add another Wimbledon title to his CV

Alongside James and Willstrop, there is a strong English contingent featuring at the tournament with the likes of last season’s runner-up Tom Richards, Daryl Selby, Chris Simpson and George Parker all battling it out for the title, while the wildcard spots are occupied by Jordan Warne and Tom Walsh.

The likes of Mexico’s Cesar Salazar, France’s Lucas Serme and Egypt’s World Junior champion Mostafa Asal will also all be in action in the English capital.

The event is a significant fundraiser for Squash Squared, which is a UK registered squash and education charity supporting disadvantaged students for academic and sporting success. Tickets can be purchased via the tournament website and prices start from £20 for adults and £10 for juniors

You can also follow the Squash Squared charity on Twitter and Instagram.

Squash Squared Open, The Wimbledon Club, Wimbledon, London, England, May 11-16.

Entry List:

Marwan ElShorbagy (EGY)
Omar Mosaad (EGY)
Declan James (ENG)
James Willstrop (ENG)
Tom Richards (ENG)
Mathieu Castagnet (FRA)
Daryl Selby (ENG)
Cesar Salazar (MEX)
Lucas Serme (FRA)
Chris Simpson (ENG)
George Parker (ENG)
Mostafa Asal (EGY)
Fares Dessouky (EGY)
Ben Coleman (ENG)
Ramit Tandon (IND)
Iker Pajares Bernabeu (ESP)
Baptiste Masotti (FRA)
Olli Tuominen (FIN)
Mahesh Mangaonkar (IND)
Asim Khan (PAK)
Carlos Cornes Ribadas (ESP)
Sebastien Bonmalais (FRA)
Jordan Warne (ENG)
Tom Walsh (ENG)

Pictures courtesy of Patrick Lauson and PSA


Read more

Latest News