Tuesday, January 31, 2023

Marwan Elshorbagy claims Houston title

Houston champion Marwan Elshorbagy
Houston champion Marwan Elshorbagy

Top seed wins all-Egyptian final


Egyptian number one seed Marwan Elshorbagy lifted the sixth PSA World Tour title of his career after downing compatriot Mohamed Abouelghar 3-1 in the final of the Houston Open, PSA M50 tournament.

Elshorbagy, who last month captured the Grasshopper Cup crown in what was the biggest tournament win of his career to date, battled past fellow Egyptian Mazen Hesham in a spectacular semi-final encounter, while Abouelghar overcame second seed Ryan Cuskelly to secure his final berth.

The early stages of the match saw Elshorbagy come out on top as he surged into a one-game lead, before Abouelghar, competing in his maiden PSA M50 final, fought back to restore parity in closely contested second game.

Things remained tight in the third with both players trading blows with gusto as they attempted to move the other off the ’T’. World No.7 Elshorbagy managed to edge narrowly ahead and he regained his lead with an 11-9 victory in the third.

With Abouelghar’s resistance finally broken, Elshorbagy romped to the win in the fourth for the loss of just three points to wrap up an 11-7, 9-11, 11-9, 11-3 triumph which sees him continue his impressive form of late.

“I’m happy to win my sixth PSA title here in Houston,” said Elshorbagy. “Words cannot describe how I’m feeling right now. It’s been an amazing season so far for me. Thanks everyone for the support, it means so much to me.” 

PSA M50 Houston Open 2016, Life Time Athletic Club, Houston, Texas, USA.

[1] Marwan Elshorbagy (EGY) bt [4] Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY) 11-7, 9-11, 11-9, 11-3 (51m)

[1] Marwan Elshorbagy (EGY) bt [3] Mazen Hesham (EGY) 11-6, 7-11, 11-8, 10-12, 11-9 (60m)
[4] Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY) bt [2] Ryan Cuskelly (AUS) 11-6, 11-6, 5-11, 11-7 (35m)

[1] Marwan Elshorbagy (EGY) bt [5] Stephen Coppinger (RSA) 11-8, 11-6, 6-11, 11-8 (45m)
[3] Mazen Hesham (EGY) bt [8] Omar Abdel Meguid (EGY) 5-11, 8-11, 11-6, 11-9, 11-9 (65m)
[4] Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY) bt [6] Gregoire Marche (FRA) 7-11, 11-4, 11-6, 11-9 (46m)
[2] Ryan Cuskelly (AUS) bt [7] Zahed Mohamed (EGY) 11-8, 11-8, 7-11, 11-8 (76m)

1st round:
[1] Marwan Elshorbagy (EGY) bt [Q] Olli Tuominen (FIN) 12-10, 11-6, 11-5 (25m)
[5] Stephen Coppinger (RSA) bt Nafiizwan Adnan (MAS) 11-9, 13-11, 11-5 (50m)
[8] Omar Abdel Meguid (EGY) bt [WC] Shahjahan Khan (PAK) 11-5, 21-19, 11-1 (50m)
[3] Mazen Hesham (EGY) bt [Q] Campbell Grayson (NZL) 11-13, 11-5, 11-6, 12-10 (50m)
[4] Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY) bt Diego Elias (PER) 7-11, 11-4, 7-11, 11-8, 11-4 (52m)
[6] Gregoire Marche (FRA) bt Cesar Salazar (MEX) 17-19, 11-2, 13-11, 11-8 (70m)
[7] Zahed Mohamed (EGY) bt [Q] Reiko Peter (SUI) 7-11, 11-8, 11-9, 11-6 (46m)
[2] Ryan Cuskelly (AUS) bt [Q] Henrik Mustonen (FIN) 11-7, 11-4, 11-3 (25m)

Qualifying finals:
Reiko Peter (SUI) bt Vikram Malhotra (IND) 11-3, 11-6, 11-7 (40m)
Henrik Mustonen (FIN) bt Danish Atlas Khan (PAK) 11-8, 11-7, 11-5 (27m)
Olli Tuominen (FIN) bt Christopher Binnie (JAM) 8-11, 10-12, 11-8, 11-6, 11-9 (68m)
Campbell Grayson (NZL) bt Nathan Lake (ENG) 11-6, 11-5, 12-10 (35m)

First qualifying round:
Vikram Malhotra (IND) bt Alfredo Avila (MEX) 11-6, 11-7, 11-5 (35m)
Reiko Peter (SUI) bt Yasir Ali Butt (PAK) w/o
Danish Atlas Khan (PAK) bt Anthony Graham (ENG) 9-11, 11-6, 11-8, 12-10 (52m)
Henrik Mustonen (FIN) bt Adam Coleman (USA) 11-2, 11-0, 11-1 (12m)
Olli Tuominen (FIN) bt Faraz Khan (USA) 11-3, 11-9, 9-11, 11-2 (36m)
Christopher Binnie (JAM) bt Clinton Leeuw (RSA) 9-11, 9-11, 11-6, 11-7, 11-5 (80m)
Nathan Lake (ENG) bt Reuben Phillips (ENG) 11-3, 11-8, 11-3 (45m)
Campbell Grayson (NZL) bt Shahid Hussain (PAK) 11-0, 11-2, 11-3 (19m) 

Picture courtesy of PSA 


Related articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest articles