Thursday, September 21, 2023

Matthew and Duncalf top seeds in British Nationals

British National Championships Seeds Predict Yorkshire Double in Manchester

Nick Matthew and Jenny Duncalf are expected to provide a Yorkshire double in next month’s British National Squash Championships in Manchester, according to the seedings for the premier domestic event announced today by England Squash & Racketball.

The 2011 British National Squash Championships will take place at the National Squash Centre at Sportcity from 6-13 February.

Matthew is seeded to extend Yorkshire’s grip on the men’s title for the seventh successive year – and is the firm favourite to become the county’s most successful champion, winning his fourth title since 2006.

The 30-year-old from Sheffield is truly at the top of the world in squash:  He followed a double gold medal success in last October’sCommonwealth Games in Delhi by becoming England’s first ever world champion in December – then stamped his authority on the game by becoming world number one this month.

But Matthew will face still opposition from career-long county, country and international rival James Willstrop.  The 27-year-old from Leeds, a two-time champion ranked four in the world, is the No2 seed and expected to meet Matthew in fifth Nationals final.

However, Essex pair Peter Barker and Daryl Selby will also provide a substantial threat to the two Yorkshiremen.  Left-handed Londoner Barker, the world No8, is the third seed and Selby, ranked two world places lower, is the No4 seed.

A world-class battle is also predicted in the final of the women’s championship, which is expected to be contested by favourite Jenny Duncalf and second-seed Londoner Alison Waters for the fourth time in the last five years.

Duncalf, the world No2 from Harrogate, was champion in 2007 & 2009, while world No3 Waters is the defending champion, after also winning the crown in 2008.

But, again, the top two seeds cannot expect to have things all their own way:   Lancashire’s fourth seed Laura Massaro, ranked ten in the world, will be looking to improve on her runner-up finish in 2008 – and third seed Madeline Perry, the world No6, will be determined to become the first Irishwoman to reach the final in the event’s 36-year history..

Men’s seeds:

[1] Nick Matthew (Yorks)

[2] James Willstrop (Yorks)

[3] Peter Barker (Essex)

[4] Daryl Selby (Essex)

[5] Adrian Grant (Kent)

[6] Jonathan Kemp (Shropshire)

[7] Tom Richards (Surrey)

[8] Chris Ryder (Herts)

[9] Chris Simpson (Hants)

[10] Adrian Waller (Herts)

[11] Alan Clyne (Scotland)

[12] Joe Lee (Surrey)

[13] Laurence Delasaux (Yorks)

[14] Joel Hinds (Derbyshire)

[15] Eddie Charlton (Notts)

[16] Andrew Whipp (Cheshire)

Women’s seeds

[1] Jenny Duncalf (Yorks)

[2] Alison Waters (Middx)

[3] Madeline Perry (Ireland)

[4] Laura Massaro (Lancs)

[5] Sarah Kippax (Cheshire)

[6] Emma Beddoes (Warwicks)

[7] Tania Bailey (Lincs)

[8] Victoria Lust (Beds)

For more general details of the 2011 National Championships, please visit the official website:

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest articles