Friday, February 23, 2024

Mostafa Asal disqualified from the U.S. Open after bursting opponent Lucas Serme’s eardrum with a wayward shot

By ALAN THATCHER (Squash Mad Editor)

Defending champion Mostafa Asal has made a dramatic exit from this year’s U.S. Open after his opponent Lucas Serme was awarded their second round match after being struck in the head by a wayward shot from the Egyptian.

Serme was given 15 minutes to recover, but was unable to do so in that time. The match referee deemed it to be an “opponent-inflicted injury” and, applying the code of conduct, Asal was disqualified.

In a further development, the PSA announced today that Serme would not be able to play his third round tie this evening resulting in Marwan ElShorbagy being given a walkover into the quarter finals.

The incident occurred last night as Asal, who last year became the youngest winner in the history of the U.S. Open, was cruising with a two-game lead and was 6-4 up in the third. Serme hit a loose ball that bounced around at the back of the court and Asal decided to turn and hit a shot up the middle.

Serme – who was ducking – was struck in the head with the ball and fell to the floor. Asal immediately looked full of contrition for injuring his opponent.

After the 15-minute recovery period had expired, the PSA physio deemed Serme to be unable to continue, with the world No.43 from France requiring further medical examination.

Serme was taken from the Arlen Specter National Squash Center to a local hospital in Philadelphia and was diagnosed with concussion and a perforated eardrum.

The PSA said: “Everyone at the PSA wishes Lucas well and he will be monitored closely ahead of his potential return to the court.”

Serme was due to play ElShorbagy later today after the Egyptian beat England’s Patrick Rooney 4-11, 11-7, 11-9, 11-8 in 48 minutes.

Because of his concussion, Serme may face issues flying back to Europe to compete in next week’s Grasshopper Cup in Zurich, where he is due to play fellow Frenchman Baptiste Masotti in the first round on October 18.

SquashTV commentator Lee Drew, who is the PSA’s referees liaison officer as well as being Lucas Serme’s latest coach, confirmed that Asal will inevitably face a disciplinary hearing because of the conduct decision to award the match against him.

Considerable debate has developed in the game following a nasty leg injury suffered by Hania El Hammamy after being hit by a shot from world No.1 Nouran Gohar. The shot was struck with such force that it burst the skin on her opponent’s calf.

In the recent Egyptian Open, Gohar herself was struck close to the eye by El Hammamy’s racket swing.

After the first incident, Gohar’s coach Rodney Martin blamed the referee for calling a “no let” when Gohar stopped play in a similar situation, believing her opponent to be in her path between her and the front wall.

Mike Harris, head coach at Wolverhampton Tennis and Squash Club, commented: “First of all, it’s an extremely unfortunate accident.


“Serme is in doubt where to move to, hesitates on the forehand side before moving towards the middle.

“Asal DOES look up and sees Serme on the forehand, then looks down to hit the ball, which is when Serme moves across to the middle and gets one in the side of the head!”

Harris, who is blind in one eye following a stroke, added: “It was extremely close to his eye, (so pleased he was not hit in the eye) but a potential burst eardrum could cause long term damage and hinder his balance.

“Asal will feel awful and will have nightmares over this incident.”

Former women’s world No.5 (and former world junior No.1) Alexia Clonda, who is now coaching in the USA, said: “It was accidental, but, dangerous play. As he was running to get the ball he was aware of where where Serme was, but as Asal turned Serme had moved to the T and Asal did not check again to see and be aware of where Serme was.

“One of the golden rules is to be aware and know where your opponent is.

“Ideally it should have been a forehand drive. Unfortunately, Asal turned, hit his opponent and inflicted an injury. No fault on Serme’s part. The rule is clear, unfortunately for Asal. Before he hit that ball he should have been aware of where Serme was.

“It is now the time to start penalizing the disgraceful behaviours that have been creeping into the game more and more. But this was accidental dangerous play.”

Related articles.

Top seed Ali Farag beats Eain Yow Ng to set up return clash with Miguel Rodriguez: report

Trio of American women through to U.S. Open third round: report

Pictures courtesy of PSA World Tour 


Related articles


  1. Ok I have watched the clip of the incident (Serme vs Asal) several times now. First Serme over hit his cross court and should have given ground and not run back to the T.
    Clearly he did this to prevent Asal’s options. However, Asal knew where Serme was as he did look up before he hit the ball. Asal should not have hit that ball which was not only reckless it was very dangerous, and wrongly hit Serme. It was the correct decision to do disqualify Asal.
    However if one reads the rules from 9.3.1 or 9.1.3 onwards (can’t remember which way round) it clearly states that; if Asal had stopped and asked instead of hitting the ball he should have been give the point even though he turned on the ball. This is because Serme purposely ran and blocked a winning shot after hitting a very wide cross court. This is an unequivocal fact and is in the rules. Not withstanding this, Asal was yet again an idiot and it was quite correct to disqualify him. I have to wonder if Asal had have stopped and asked, would he have been given a point. Probably not! This situation has been waiting to happen for a long time; and is an accumulation of poor behaviour from Asal, the PSA’s lack of disciplinary action against Asal and poor refereeing on ridiculous regularity.

  2. I very much doubt Serme will be fit to play if he has a perforated ear drum. I suffered partial hearing loss recently and the brain plays tricks on what it can pick up and distorts all sounds. I can only imagine the sound in an enclosed court will be unbearable.

  3. Agree this is the result of poorly-worked attempts to get players to play the ball which, in turn, is caused by players looking for cheap points.

  4. I am a Professional Sound Engineer now,, former Pro Squash Player. His Ear Drum will be fine in 3-6 months, if it’s actually that bad. Come in a recording studio… you won’t even hear the Squash Court anymore. Lol

  5. Plain and simple…turning on the ball is dangerous and thats why the turning rule is there. That can NEVER be a stroke. If Serme is out of position, take the ball without turning. No matter what it has to be a let…as soon as you turn. I’ve seen Asal turn many times, take the shot, and come really close to his opponent because he decides to cross court the ball. So dangerous. What I don’t understand is that Asal is always fishing, stalling, arguing, pushing, and blocking when he doesnt have to…because he’s good enough to win without all that crap. Now even the refs aren’t having any of it. JUST PLAY!

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest articles