17.1 C
Saturday, July 24, 2021

Nour El Tayeb headlines draw for Carol Weymuller Open

Alan Thatcherhttps://squashmad.com
Founder of World Squash Day, Squash Mad and the new Squash 200 Partnership, building clubs of the future. Founder of the Kent Open and co-promoter of the St. James's Place Canary Wharf Classic. Author and Public Speaker.

More from the author

Nour El Tayeb is one of the most spectacular players on the PSA World Tour

Stars to shine at Heights Casino in Brooklyn

Egypt’s World No.3 Nour El Tayeb will headline a top-class draw at Brooklyn’s Heights Casino between October 17-22 when the Carol Weymuller Open becomes the first PSA World Tour Bronze event to take place under the new PSA tour structure.

El Tayeb will be looking to continue her rich vein of form in America after the 25-year-old claimed two titles there last season at the U.S. Open and Windy City Open held in Philadelphia and Chicago.

She will be joined by some of the biggest names in women’s squash, including English pair Sarah-Jane Perry – the World No.8 who was victorious in San Francisco last year to win the Oracle NetSuite Open – and World No.10 Waters, who finished runner-up at the tournament in 2016 to World No.1 Nour El Sherbini.

Home interest in the main draw comes in the form of United States No.1 Olivia Blatchford and former World No.6 Amanda Sobhy as they look to impress in front of a home crowd.

World No.43 Haley Mendez – who grew up playing squash at the Heights Casino – will be making her first appearance in the main draw without the use of a wildcard.

The wildcard spot is taken up by Canada’s World No.61 Nicole Bunyan – who resides in New York – and she will be joined by fellow countrywomen Hollie Naughton and Danielle Letourneau.

They will face tough competition from the likes of Wales’ World No.12 Tesni Evans, England’s World No.13 Victoria Lust and a strong Egyptian line-up of talent which includes the likes of World No.15 Salma Hany and World Junior champion Rowan Elaraby.

Carol Weymuller Open, Heights Casino, Brooklyn, USA (October 17-22):

Entry List:

1) Nour El Tayeb (EGY)
2) Sarah-Jane Perry (ENG)
3) Alison Waters (ENG)
4) Tesni Evans (WAL)
5) Victoria Lust (ENG)
6) Olivia Blatchford (USA)
7) Salma Hany (EGY)
8) Joshna Chinappa (IND)
9) Amanda Sobhy (USA)
10) Hania El Hammamy (EGY)
11) Mariam Metwally (EGY)
12) Mayar Hany (EGY)
13) Rowan Elaraby (EGY)
14) Nele Gilis (BEL)
15) Hollie Naughton (CAN)
16) Amanda Landers-Murphy (NZL)
17) Zeina Mickawy (EGY)
18) Milou van der Heijden (NED)
19) Danielle Letourneau (CAN)
20) Haley Mendez (USA)
21) Julianne Courtice (ENG)
22) Alexandra Fuller (RSA)
23) Tinne Gilis (BEL
Wild card: Nicole Bunyan (CAN) 

Article by ELLIE MAWSON (PSA Media Team). Edited by ALAN THATCHER

Picture by PATRICK LAUSON (www.patricklausonphotography.co.uk)


Related articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest articles