13.7 C
Monday, October 3, 2022

Perry and Evans seeded to meet in AJ Bell National final in Nottingham

More from the author

Reigning champion Tesni Evas (left) and Sarah-Jane Perry in action

Reigning champion Tesni hopes to be back at full fitness
By DONNA HELMER – Squash Mad Correspondent

Top seed Sarah-Jane Perry and defending champion Tesni Evans are seeded to contest the final of the AJ Bell British National Squash Championships in Nottingham next month after the women’s draw was released today.

The tournament, which take places at the University of Nottingham Sport and Nottingham Squash Rackets Club between February 11-16, features a strong female line-up battling for the prestigious title, including four-time champion Alison Waters and last year’s runner-up Emily Whitlock.

Perry and Evans, the World No.8 and 9 respectively have never met in the British Nationals before, with second seed Evans of Wales having a strong record against the England No.1 on the PSA World Tour, prevailing in four out of their last five encounters. Evans will be hoping to be back at full fitness after rolling her ankle during the recent Tournament of Champions in New York.

Four-time champion Alison Waters (right) and 2019 runner-up Emily Whitlock

Perry, the 2015 champion, is seeded to meet former World No.3 Waters, a ten-time finalist in the semi-finals.

On the opposite of the draw is two-time defending champion Evans who is scheduled to meet 3/4 seed Victoria Lust in the last four.

Meanwhile, a quartet of English stars, Emily Whitlock, Millie Tomlinson, Julianne Courtice and Lucy Turmel are seeded to reach the quarter-finals.

Qualifying will see 18 players compete for the four qualifier spots on February 11-12 at Nottingham Squash Rackets Club.

AJ Bell British National Championships 2020, Nottingham, February 11-16.

Women’s First Round:
[1] Sarah-Jane Perry (Eng) v Qualifier
[5/8] Julianne Courtice (Eng) v Rachael Chadwick (Eng)
[5/8] Lucy Turmel (Eng) v Qualifier
[3/4] Alison Waters (Eng) v Jasmine Hutton (Eng)
[3/4] Victoria Lust (Eng) v Alison Thomson (Sco)
[5/8] Emily Whitlock (Eng) v Anna Kimberley (Eng)
[5/8] Millie Tomlinson (Eng) v Qualifier
[2] Tesni Evans (Wal) v Qualifier

To view the draw, visit the official website at www.nationalsquashchampionships.com Follow live action from the tournament from 13-16 February via englandsquash.tv (requires free England Squash website account)  

Pictures courtesy of England Squash


Related articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest articles