Monday, July 15, 2024

ToC confirm prize money parity for women

Tommy Berden thanks John Nimick and JP Morgan for New York cash boost 
By HOWARD HARDING – Squash Mad Correspondent

Top seeds Nicol David and Laura Massaro
Top seeds Nicol David and Laura Massaro

Promoters of the J.P. Morgan Tournament of Champions have confirmed that the total prize-fund for the Women’s Squash Association championship in 2015 will nearly double in size to $118,000 to ensure prize money parity for participants at the world’s largest spectator squash event which will be held in New York in January.

The 2015 J.P. Morgan Tournament of Champions will take place for the 18th year at New York’s iconic Grand Central Terminal, from 16-23 January.

“Thanks to JP Morgan and their commitment to make the Tournament of Champions a worldwide leader in squash, we are thrilled to make this added commitment to the women’s division for 2015 and to plan for prize money parity and draw size equality in 2016 and beyond,” confirmed Tournament Chairman John Nimick, President of Event Engine, Inc.

The 2015 men’s purse will pay $150,000 to 32 main draw players, while the newly-increased women’s purse will pay out to 20 players, ensuring parity on a round-by-round basis.

WSA CEO Tommy Berden is delighted with the breakthrough news: “We are very thankful to John Nimick and JP Morgan for their support and their gigantic efforts to almost triple last year’s prize money for the women’s draw.

“These are exciting times for women’s squash and we are looking forward to working even more extensively with John and JP Morgan in the future.”

The Tournament of Champions has been a staple on the Professional Squash Association (PSA) circuit since 1993 and is regularly watched by more than 200,000 spectators during its week-long occupancy of Grand Central’s stunning Vanderbilt Hall. With entries confirmed, in both the 32 player men’s and 16 player women’s main draws, spectators can look forward to an action-packed week of competition as the 2015 championships include virtually all of the top ranking players in the world.

The 2015 WSA championship has already attracted 18 of the world’s top 20 women, led by defending champion Nicol David, the world number one from Malaysia, and including world No.2 Laura Massaro (ENG), No.3 Raneem El Welily (EGY), 4 Nour El Sherbini (EGY), 5 Alison Waters (ENG), 6 Camille Serme (FRA), 7 Low Wee Wern (MAS), 8 Nour El Tayeb (EGY), 9 Annie Au (HKG) and world No.10 Omneya Abdel Kawy (EGY).


Picture by 


Read more

Latest News