Friday, July 19, 2024

WISPA: Landers-Murphy wins NSW title

Landers-Murphy wins first title at New South Wales Open

New Zealand’s Amanda Landers-Murphy collected her first WISPA title at the Tour 4 New South Wales Open in Sydney this week, having to get past three high ranked players in the process.

The 20 year old from Rotorua had shown her potential throughout the Australian circuit, reaching three semi finals in a row before making her first tour final appearance at the South Australian Open in June, losing out in four close games to Melody Francis.

The draw featured several players who had already won titles throughout the Aussie circuit and others who had shown promise and were looking to end their time down under in style. However, with seven tournaments already played in the last two months by many of these players in Australia, the New South Wales Open would show that Landers-Murphy had the legs to be the last woman standing.

Scotland’s Lisa Aitken was one of those who had gradually improved throughout the events but unfortunately for her she ran into Landers-Murphy in the second round. Landers-Murphy edged a tight opener before running away to a straight game win. The rest of the second round saw all the top names go through fairly comfortably, with Maggy Marshall the only seed not making it into the quarter finals, losing to Korea’s Ahn Eun Chan in straight games.

The quarter final saw Landers-Murphy upset her no.1 seeded compatriot Kylie Lindsay as well as some epic encounters. Landers-Murphy repeated her quarter final win over Lindsay from the South Australian Open last month to stun the top seed once more, again in four games. Melody Francis followed her into the semi final with a straight game win over Wales’ Deon Saffery. The last two tournament winners made the semi final line up, both coming through in five games. Tasmanian Open champion Samantha Cornett held off the challenge of second seed Song Sun-Mi, while Queensland Open champion Siyoli Waters made it two Koreans sent home, edging Chan 12-10 in the fifth.

The first semi final saw Cornett upset the home supporters by ending Francis’ run. The two had never met before on the tour and it was Cornett who used her rangy and powerful strokes to come through in four games. Landers-Murphy looked down and out against Waters, going two games down to the South African. The young kiwi showed her determination though and gradually turned the match around, grinding Waters down and easing to victory in the final game.

The final saw a showdown between the two 20 year-olds. Cornett, already with two tour titles this year and more big match experience would have been considered by many the favourite. Landers-Murphy had other ideas. She showed no signs of tiredness after her semi final win and managed to sneak into a two game lead. Cornett hit back in the third and looked to be turning the match around. However it was the Canadian who looked faltered and Landers-Murphy raced away with the fourth game to claim her maiden WISPA title.

Landers-Murphy will now mix it with the top girls as she looks ahead to the Australian Open next week.


[7] Amanda Landers-Murphy (NZL) bt [5] Samantha Cornett (CAN) 11/7 15/13 4/11 11/2 (33m)

Semi Finals:

[7] Amanda Landers-Murphy (NZL) bt [4] Siyoli Waters (RSA) 6/11 9/11 11/8 11/6 11/4 (38m)

[5] Samantha Cornett (CAN) bt [3] Melody Francis (AUS) 11/8 11/6 5/11 11/6 (31m)

Quarter Finals:

[7] Amanda Landers-Murphy (NZL) bt [1] Kylie Lindsay (NZL) 11/6 5/11 11/5 11/7 (25m)

[4] Siyoli Waters (RSA) bt [9] Ahn Eun Chan (KOR) 12/10 8/11 11/8 10/12 12/10 (57m)

[3] Melody Francis (AUS) bt [8] Deon Saffery (WAL) 11/9 11/8 11/4 (28m)

[5] Samantha Cornett (CAN) bt [2] Song Sun-Mi (9/11 11/9 11/5 7/11 11/6 (39m)

2nd Round:

[1] Kylie Lindsay (NZL) bt Jane Kennedy (AUS) 11/6 11/7 11/8 (26m)

[7] Amanda Landers-Murphy (NZL) bt [10] Lisa Aitken (SCO) 13/11 11/6 11/0 (18m)

[4] Siyoli Waters (RSA) bt [13] Moana Gray (AUS) 11/4 11/3 11/5 (19m)

[9] Ahn Eun Chan (KOR) bt [6] Maggy Marshall (AUS) 11/6 11/5 11/5 (23m)

[8] Deon Saffrey (WAL) bt Cigany Sierveld (NED) 9/11 11/7 11/8 11/9 (24m)

[3] Melody Francis (AUS) bt [11] Sally Skaarenborg (DEN) 11/9 11/4 11/9 (24m)

[5[ Samantha Cornett (CAN) bt [16] Carin Clonda (EST) 11/2 11/4 11/5 (18m)

[2] Song Sun-Mi (KOR) bt Sarah Nelson (AUS) 11/8 11/5 12/10 (20m)

1st Round:

[1] Kylie Lindsay (NZL) bye

Jane Kennedy (AUS) bt [15] Bine Malund Lind (DEN) 10/12 6/11 11/7 11/2 11/6 (44m)

[7] Amanda Landers-Murphy (NZL) bye

[10] Lisa Aitken (SCO) bye

[4] Siyoli Waters (RSA) bye

[13] Moana Gray (AUS) bt Bae Eun Chan (KOR) 11/8 11/9 11/7 (28m)

[6] Maggy Marshall (AUS) bye

[9] Ahn Eun Chan (KOR) bye

Cigany Sierveld (NED) bt [12] Christine Nunn (AUS) 9/11 11/8 11/6 11/6 (27m)

[8] Deon Saffery (WAL) bye

[11] Sally Skaarenborg (DEN) bye

[3] Melody Francis (AUS) bye

[16] Carin Clonda (EST) bye

[5] Samantha Cornett (CAN) bye

Sarah Nelson (AUS) bt [14] Laura Mccredie (AUS) 11/6 11/3 11/9 (23m)

[2] Song Sun-Mi (KOR) bye


Read more

Latest News