Tuesday, October 3, 2023

WSF: Egypt seeded to win fourth world title

Nick Matthew and James Willstrop will be leading the England team
Nick Matthew and James Willstrop will be leading the England team

Egypt Seeded To Win Fourth World Team Title

26 May 2013

Defending champions Egypt are seeded to retain the WSF Men’s World Team Squash Championship title next month after a projected final meeting with former champions England in what would be a repeat of the 2011 final.

Teams from 31 nations – with representation from all five continents in the top sixteen alone – will contest the biennial championships which will be held in France for the first time in the event’s 46-year history.

The 24th WSF Men’s World Team Championship, hosted by the Fédération Française de Squash, will be held from 9-15 June in Mulhouse, at both the Espace Squash 3000 Centre and the Palais Des Sports – where action will take place on three all-glass showcourts, with stunning presentation assured.

With a squad featuring four players from the PSA world top ten – led by world number one and world champion Ramy Ashour – Egypt are firm favourites to win the title for the third time in a row, and the fourth time since 1999.

However England – led by world No2 Nick Matthew and also including fellow Yorkshireman James Willstrop, the world No4 – will be determined to make up for the disappointment of the 2011 defeat in Germany by taking the title for the fifth time since 1995.

Hosts France, runners-up in 2009 and led by world No3 Gregory Gaultier, are the event’s No3 seeds, while record eight-time champions Australia are the fourth seeds.

Botswana and Poland will be making their first appearances in the championship.

The full pool line-up is as follows (with seeding in brackets):

Pool A: [1] EGYPT, [16] SCOTLAND, [17/20] KUWAIT, [29/32] KENYA
Pool B: [2] ENGLAND, [15] CANADA, [17/20] COLOMBIA, [29/32] NAMIBIA
Pool C: [3] FRANCE, [14] PAKISTAN, [17/20] NETHERLANDS, [29/32] RUSSIA
Pool E: [5] MALAYSIA, [12] NEW ZEALAND, [21/24] BOTSWANA, [25/28] POLAND
Pool F: [6] GERMANY, [11] USA, [21/24] IRELAND, [25/28] CZECH REPUBLIC
Pool G: [7] SOUTH AFRICA, [10] HONG KONG CHINA, [21/24] AUSTRIA, [25/28] JAPAN
Pool H: [8] INDIA, [9] FINLAND, [21/24] ARGENTINA, [25/28] VENEZUELA

Join us on FaceBook – www.facebook.com/WorldSquash
Follow us on Twitter – www.twitter.com/WorldSquash

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest articles