Friday, May 24, 2024

AJ Bell confirmed as title sponsor for 2019 British Nationals

The 2018 National Champions Tesni Evans and Nick Matthew

Event moves to Nottingham in February

England Squash is delighted to announce AJ Bell as the title sponsor for the 2019 British National Squash Championships to be staged in Nottingham from 12 -17 February 2019.

The agreement sees AJ Bell increase its presence in the sport having previously sponsored the 2013 and 2017 AJ Bell World Championships in Manchester, and last year’s AJ Bell European Individual Closed Squash Championships which were staged at the University of Nottingham.

The Championships are expected to attract a star-studded line-up that will descend on the University of Nottingham for the UK’s flagship event. The five-day tournament will be held at the £40million state of the art David Ross Sports Village which comprises six glass-back squash courts and one of only four all-glass squash courts in England.

England Squash Chief Executive Officer Keir Worth said: “We’re thrilled next year’s British National Squash Championships has attracted the support of AJ Bell as title sponsor. We are grateful for their continued support of squash and their investment will significantly help next year’s event to scale new heights and provide an unforgettable event for players and spectators.”

AJ Bell Marketing Director Billy Mackay said: “We are delighted to be able to support England Squash in bringing this fantastic event to the University of Nottingham.

“It is a great opportunity for squash fans in and around the city to watch top level squash in the comfort of a first-class sport facility and will hopefully build upon the extensive interest and coverage that the AJ Bell World and European Championships attracted.”

The 2019 AJ Bell British National Squash Championships will see more than 400 of Britain’s finest players compete across 19 categories from the men’s and women’s main draw up to and including the Men’s Over 80s.

Among them will be Commonwealth Games Gold Medallist James Willstrop, defending women’s champion Tesni Evans, and former champions Laura Massaro, Sarah-Jane Perry, Daryl Selby, alongside Welsh Men’s No.1 Joel Makin and Scottish Men’s No.1 Greg Lobban.

Tickets for the 2019 AJ Bell British National Squash Championships can be booked online at or by telephone: 0844 8797 949 or email: [email protected] 


Article by Donna Helmer (England Squash Content and Communications Manager).
Edited by Alan Thatcher

Picture courtesy of England Squash


Read more

Latest News