Tuesday, November 28, 2023

Deon Saffery and Tesni Evans make it a Welsh double

Saffery stuns Aisling Blake to book her place in the first round at Hull
By Squash Mad Reporter

Deon Saffery (right) plots her vicctory
Deon Saffery (left) plots her victory against Birgit Coufal of Austria

There will be double Welsh interest in the main draw of the Women’s British Open Squash Championship for the first time this millennium after Deon Saffery and Tesni Evans both survived today’s qualifying finals of the 2014 Allam-sponsored event at the University of Hull Sports and Fitness Centre in Hull.

Deon Saffery produced the day’s biggest upset, fighting back from two games down to beat Ireland’s world No31 Aisling Blake 8-11, 8-11, 11-4, 11-3, 11-9 in 51 minutes.

Welsh champion Saffery, ranked 52 in the world and the lowest-ranked player to make the main draw, is rewarded with a first round meeting with Omneya Abdel Kawy, the No11 seed from Egypt.

21-year-old Tesni Evans will also be celebrating her maiden appearance in the historic championship’s main draw after defeating 30-year-old New Zealander Kylie Lindsay 11-6, 11-5, 5-11, 11-4.

Evans, ranked 32 in the world, will line up against Indian number one Dipika Pallikal, the world No10.

A pair of Egyptians also prevailed in the qualifiers: 16-year-old Nouran Ahmed Gohar was successful at her first attempt, beating Japan’s 24-year-old Misaki Kobayashi 11-8, 4-11, 11-5, 11-6 – while Heba El Torky earned her second appearance in the first round after surviving the day’s longest battle.

The 23-year-old from Alexandria fought for 95 minutes to overcome Mexico’s former world No11 Samantha Teran 11-8, 12-14, 8-11, 11-9, 13-11. El Torky will now line up against favourite Nicol David, the world No1 from Malaysia bidding to win the title for a fifth time.

There were additional qualifying wins by Australian Donna Urquhart, Canadian Samantha Cornett, Malaysian Delia Arnold and Siyoli Waters of South Africa.

Women’s Allam British Open, Hull, England (Qualifying competition):

1st qualifying round:
Donna Urquhart (AUS) bt Fiona Moverley (ENG) 11-9, 11-5, 11-6 (22m)
Salma Hany Ibrahim (EGY) bt Olivia Blatchford (USA) 11-9, 11-5, 12-10 (34m)
Lucie Fialova (CZE) bt Jessica Davis (ENG) 11-9, 11-3, 11-6 (25m)
Samantha Cornett (CAN) bt Tamika Saxby (AUS) 11-4, 11-7, 11-5 (27m)
Aisling Blake (IRL) bt Cyrielle Peltier (FRA) 11-6, 16-14, 12-10 (53m)
Deon Saffery (WAL) bt Birgit Coufal (AUT) 11-6, 11-6, 7-11, 11-8 (31m)
Lisa Camilleri (AUS) bt Laura Pomportes (FRA) 11-3, 11-5, 2-11, 8-11, 11-3 (38m)
Siyoli Waters (RSA) bt Victoria Temple Murray (ENG) 12-10, 11-4, 4-11, 11-4 (37m)
Nouran Ahmed Gohar (EGY) bt Georgina Kennedy (ENG) w/o
Misaki Kobayashi (JPN) bt Nada Elkalaawy (ENG) 11-3, 11-5, 11-4 (18m)
Kylie Lindsay (NZL) bt Lily Taylor (ENG) 7-11, 11-7, 11-9, 11-7 (42m)
Tesni Evans (WAL) bt Chloe Mesic (FRA) 11-3, 11-7, 11-2 (22m)
Latasha Khan (USA) bt Thaisa Serafini (BRA) 11-9, 11-1, 11-6 (26m)
Delia Arnold (MAS) bt Carrie Ramsey (ENG) 8-11, 11-4, 11-7, 11-2 (39m)
Samantha Teran (MEX) bt Sarah Cardwell (AUS) 11-4, 11-6, 11-4 (28m)
Heba El Torky (EGY) bt Alison Thomson (ENG) 11-1, 11-1, 11-4 (19m)
Qualifying finals:
Donna Urquhart (AUS) bt Salma Hany Ibrahim (EGY) 11-8, 11-9, 13-11 (43m)
Samantha Cornett (CAN) bt Lucie Fialova (CZE) 11-6, 11-8, 4-11, 11-6 (54m)
Deon Saffery (WAL) bt Aisling Blake (IRL) 8-11, 8-11, 11-4, 11-3, 11-9 (51m)
Siyoli Waters (RSA) bt Lisa Camilleri (AUS) 11-6, 11-8, 8-11, 6-11, 11-7 (52m)
Nouran Ahmed Gohar (EGY) bt Misaki Kobayashi (JPN) 11-8, 4-11, 11-5, 11-6 (44m)
Tesni Evans (WAL) bt Kylie Lindsay (NZL) 11-6, 11-5, 5-11, 11-4 (34m)
Delia Arnold (MAS) bt Latasha Khan (USA) 11-7, 11-7, 11-4 (30m)
Heba El Torky (EGY) bt Samantha Teran (MEX) 11-8, 12-14, 8-11, 11-9, 13-11 (95m)

Updated 1st round draw:
[1] Nicol David (MAS) v [Q] Heba El Torky (EGY)
[16] Sarah-Jane Perry (ENG) v Line Hansen (DEN)
[11] Omneya Abdel Kawy (EGY) v [Q] Deon Saffery (WAL)
[6] Camille Serme (FRA) v Nour El Tayeb (EGY)
[5] Alison Waters (ENG) v [Q] Samantha Cornett (CAN)
[12] Dipika Pallikal (IND) v [Q] Tesni Evans (WAL)
[15] Rachael Grinham (AUS) v Joshana Chinappa (IND)
[4] Joelle King (NZL) v [Q] Siyoli Waters (RSA)
[3] Raneem El Welily (EGY) v [Q] Nouran Ahmed Gohar (EGY)
[14] Kasey Brown (AUS) v [WC] Emily Whitlock (ENG)
[13] Nour El Sherbini (EGY) v Emma Beddoes (ENG)
[7] Low Wee Wern (MAS) v [Q] Delia Arnold (MAS)
[8] Madeline Perry (IRL) v Nicolette Fernandes (GUY)
[10] Jenny Duncalf (ENG) v Sarah Kippax (ENG)
[9] Annie Au (HKG) v [Q] Donna Urquhart (AUS)
[2] Laura Massaro (ENG) v Joey Chan (HKG)

For all the latest WSA Tour news: wsaworldtour.com


Picture courtesy of the British Open website 


Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest articles