Monday, July 15, 2024

Gregory Gaultier is top seed in Sweden

Ramy Ashour and James Willstrop back after injury disruption to their 2014 calendar

Ramy Ashour and James Willstrop will both be in action in Sweden
Ramy Ashour and James Willstrop will both be in action in Sweden

The 2014 Qatar PSA World Champion Ramy Ashour will look to add the Case Swedish Open trophy to his impressive collection of titles when the 2015 staging of Scandinavia’s most prestigious squash tournament gets underway at the Linköping Sporthall, Sweden on Thursday February 5.

Ashour, who defeated current World No.1 Mohamed Elshorbagy in one of the most dramatic World Championship finals of recent years, will be a hot favourite to win the title.

greglunge copyBut he will face stiff competition from defending champion Nick Matthew, who beat Ashour in the 2014 final, and World No.2 Gregory Gaultier (right), who is at the head of a star-studded field.

With six top 10 players taking part, including English top 10 duo Peter Barker and James Willstrop and Simon Rösner, Germany’s World No.10, the 2015 Case Swedish Open looks set to be one of the tightest PSA International 70 events of 2015.

“We’re delighted to have such a strong collection of players competing in the 2015 Case Swedish Open and look forward to what promises to be a very exciting week of squash,” said Fredrik Johnson, CEO of ActiPro.

“I am sure that in 2015 we will once again be treated to some world class action on the magnificent glass court here in Sweden and I cannot wait to see it unfold.”Having been held for the first time in the 1970s, the Swedish Open has grown to become one of the biggest International-level tournaments on the PSA World Tour calendar and will enter its twelfth year under the stewardship of ActiPro events.

The 2015 CASE Swedish Open will take place at Linköping Sporthall, Linköping from February 3 – February 8 and tickets can be purchased by visiting

2015 Case Swedish Open – Entry List:

1. Gregory Gaultier
2. Nick Matthew
3. Ramy Ashour
4. Peter Barker
5. James Willstrop
6. Simon Rösner
7. Marwan Elshorbagy
8. Nicolas Mueller
9. Cameron Pilley
10. Stephen Coppinger
11. Chris Simpson
Wildcard: Rasmus Hult



Read more

Latest News