Sunday, July 14, 2024

Injured Anjema out of Worlds in Qatar

Aziz and Mangaonkar into main draw as Darwish quits and LJ withdraws 
By NATHAN CLARKE – Squash Mad PSA Correspondent

LJ Anjema in action
LJ Anjema in action

Dutch national champion Laurens Jan Anjema has withdrawn from the upcoming 2014 Qatar PSA World Championship taking place in Doha, Qatar from  November 14- 21 due to injury.

The World No.16 has been suffering from a series of recurring foot and ankle problems throughout the past few months, having also missed the Delaware Investments US Open and Cathay Pacific Sun Hung Kai Financial Hong Kong Open.

Anjema told his Facebook followers: “Unfortunately I’ve had to pull out of the world championships next week. Next Tuesday (November 11) I’ll be getting surgery on my left foot. Disappointed to be out for a while but this surgery is my only lifeline to few more good years on tour. I’ll put all my energy and attention into my rehab, which will take approximately three months.”

He becomes the second player to withdraw from the sport’s annual showpiece event in the past week following the retirement of Egypt’s former world number one Karim Darwish.

As a result, Egyptian Omar Abdel Aziz and Indian Mahesh Mangaonkar move into the main draw automatically and will be in first round action on Saturday November 15.

Aziz will face compatriot Tarek Momen, the World No.9, while Mangaonkar will take on a qualifier in his opening encounter. 

Results title (i.e. First Round):

[1] Gregory Gaultier (FRA) v [Qualifier] Mazen Hesham (EGY) v Mohd Nafiizwan Adnan (MAS)
Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY) v Karim Ali Fathi (EGY)
[WC] Abdulla Mohd Al Tamimi (QAT) v [9] Omar Mosaad (EGY)
[16] Mathieu Castagnet (FRA) v [Qualifier] Alister Walker (BOT) v [Qualifier] Cameron Pilley (AUS) v Joe Lee (ENG)
Chris Simpson (ENG) v [7] Peter Barker (ENG)
[6] Borja Golan (ESP) v Leo Au (HKG)
Henrik Mustonen (FIN) v [Qualifier] Fares Dessouki (EGY) v [Qualifier] Olli Tuominen (FIN) v [13] Marwan Elshorbagy (EGY)
[12] Miguel Angel Rodriguez (COL) v Shaun Le Roux (RSA)
Zahed Mohamed (EGY) v [Qualifier] Adrian Grant (ENG) v [Qualifier] [Qualifier] v [4] Ramy Ashour (EGY)

[3] Nick Matthew (ENG) v [Qualifier]
Gregoire Marche (FRA) v Alan Clyne (SCO)
Nasir Iqbal (PAK) v [Qualifier]
Steven Finitsis (AUS) v [14] Saurav Ghosal (IND)
[15] Karim Abdel Gawad (EGY) v Abdullah Al Muzayen (KUW)
Max Lee (HKG) v [Qualifier]
Nicolas Mueller (SUI) v Ryan Cuskelly (AUS)
Adrian Waller (ENG) v [5] Amr Shabana (EGY)
[8] Daryl Selby (ENG) v Stephen Coppinger (RSA)
Ong Beng Hee (MAS) v [Qualifier]
Eddie Charlton (ENG) v Tom Richards (ENG)
Omar Abdel Aziz (EGY) v [10] Tarek Momen (EGY)
[11] Simon Rösner (GER) v [Qualifier]
Campbell Grayson (NZL) v [Qualifier]
Mahesh Mangaonkar (IND) v [Qualifier]
[Qualifier] v [2] Mohamed Elshorbagy (EGY)

Picture by 


Read more

Latest News