22 C
Tuesday, August 16, 2022

Matthew and Massaro top seeds in Nationals

Alan Thatcher
Alan Thatcherhttps://squashmad.com
Founder of World Squash Day, Squash Mad, the Kent Open and co-promoter of the Canary Wharf Classic. Launched the Squash 200 Partnership to build clubs of the future. Talks a bit.

More from the author

Reigning champions and top seeds Nick Matthew and Laura Massaro

Best of British in Manchester


Nick Matthew and Laura Massaro have been named as top seeds by England Squash for next month’s Dunlop British National Squash Championships to be staged at the National Squash Centre in Manchester from February 15-18.

Joining the defending champion and record nine-time champion Nick Matthew in the men’s draw, in what is anticipated to be the last time he will compete in the event, will be former champions James Willstrop and Daryl Selby.

The men’s draw will also feature a wealth of British talent, including Welsh No.1 and British U23 Champion Joel Makin, Greg Lobban of Scotland and Englishmen Declan James, Chris Simpson and Ben Coleman.

Defending champion Laura Massaro tops an equally competitive women’s line-up which will include former champions Sarah-Jane Perry, Alison Waters and Jenny Duncalf, Welsh No.1 Tesni Evans and England’s
Emily Whitlock and Victoria Lust, who are both ranked in the world’s top 20.

For the first time, Welsh star Evans, who is ranked 12 in the world, is among the top four seeds. She achieved the best result of her career when beating Massaro in the AJ Bell World Championships in December and will be looking forward to  an equally successful return to Manchester.

The full draw and schedule will be announced on Friday 2nd February.

Qualification will take place at the National Squash Centre on the 13th and 14th February with the main draw action commencing on the 15th February.

To buy tickets visit www.isportstore.com, call ticket hotline 0844 8797 949 or email [email protected]

2018 Dunlop British National Squash Championships, National Squash Centre, Manchester, February 15-18.

Men’s Main Draw (seedings):
[1] Nick Matthew
[2] James Willstrop
[3/4] Daryl Selby
[3/4] Declan James
[5/8] Greg Lobban
[5/8] Joel Makin
[5/8] Chris Simpson
[5/8] Ben Coleman

Women’s Main Draw (seedings):
[1] Laura Massaro
[2] Sarah-Jane Perry
[3/4] Tesni Evans
[3/4] Alison Waters
[5/8] Victoria Lust
[5/8] Fiona Moverley
[5/8] Millie Tomlinson
[5/8] Emily Whitlock 

Picture courtesy of England Squash


Related articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest articles