12.6 C
Tuesday, May 11, 2021

Poland to host World Juniors

Howard Hardinghttp://www.squashinfo.com
Publisher of www.squashinfo.com Knowledgeable and respected figure in squash media. Media director for the World Squash Federation.

More from the author

Maciej Klis, owner of Enjoy Squash, looks forward to a great event in Poland
Maciej Klis, owner of Enjoy Squash, looks forward to a great event in Poland

Bielsko-Biala venue for Junior Worlds and men’s team event 


Just three years after first hosting a world championship in the sport, Poland has been selected by the World Squash Federation to stage the 2016 World Junior Squash Championships.

Under the auspices of the Polish Squash Federation, the event will be held in the city of Bielsko-Biała from August 7-16.

The event will comprise the Men’s and Women’s Individual Championships, followed by the Men’s Team Championship.

“Hosting the World Juniors next year is a huge challenge for all my team and we’re very happy to bring such an event to our squash-booming region,” said Maciej Klis, owner of Enjoy Squash, the venue for the championships.

“We see massive potential in this event and so our modern 10-court facility will be well prepared!

“We will try to provide the highest level of Polish hospitality and make things as easy as possible for all the young players, parents and coaches.

“Also there will be an all-glass court provided by Squash Promotion Group and installed in the heart of Bielsko-Biała city right under our classic castle.

“The motto for the whole event will be “work hard to get exposure” as we think the need of presenting squash to the public is a strong desire of any player,” Klis continued. “We’re also sure that the level of our beloved sport will be very high, so all our squash community will be looking forward to seeing all the great matches.”

The World Junior Championships have long been a stepping stone to adult success since the first championship took place in 1980: The current Egyptian world number ones are both double World Junior Individual title winners – Mohamed Elshorbagy in 2008 and 2009, and Raneem El Welily the women’s champion in 2005 and 2007.



Related articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest articles