Sunday, April 14, 2024

Richards bids to end injury-hit 2013 on a high


World number 22 Tom Richards continues his return from injury at the BSPA Boston Open today, as a host of the world’s top 100 players compete for the £4,500 prize fund.

The 27-year-old Englishman ruptured his hamstring earlier this year and despite battling back to full fitness, Richards has struggled to recapture the form which saw him rise to 12th in the world rankings last year.

However, Richards enters as the overwhelming favourite and will be looking to repeat his success at the BSPA Wimbledon Cup two month’s ago.

Richards is seeded to face left-hander and world number 44 Jonathan Kemp in the final, while Eddie Charlton and Greg Lobban will be hoping to upset expectations at the Boston Squash and Racketball Club.

Meanwhile, the women’s draw is led by former world number 12 Jaclyn Kemp, who has recently come out of retirement after giving birth earlier this year.

The former world number 12, who will be hoping to represent New Zealand again in the Commonwealth Games next year, will be battling it out against several England juniors, including European under 19s champion Victoria Temple Murray, at the 17th edition of the BSPA tournament.

The three-day event is free to attend, with play commencing at 12:30pm on Friday and continuing until 20:00pm. The finals will be held on Sunday at 3pm after a full day’s play on Saturday.

First Round – Men’s Draw:

[1] Tom Richards (Eng) v Bye

Daniel Soar (Eng) v Nick Mulvey (Eng) – 13:15pm

Matt Sidaway (Eng) v Chris Shinnie (Sco) – 13:15pm

Lloyd Barcza (Rsa) v Tristan Eysele (Eng) – 13:15pm

Scott Handley (Eng) v Tom Bamford (Eng) – 12:30pm

James Peach (Eng) v Taminder Gata Aura (Eng) – 12:30pm

David Wardle (Eng) v Julian Tomlinson (Eng) – 12:30pm

[4] Greg Lobban (Sco) v Bye

[3] Eddie Charlton (Eng) v Bye

Robert Dadds (Eng) v Chris Van Der Salm (Nzl)

Mark Hildred (Eng) v Keith Timms (Eng)

Richard North (Eng) v Dougie Kempsell (Sco)

Ben Ford (Eng) v Tom Chitty (Eng)

Nathan Derrick (Eng) v Jamie Henderson (Sco)

Pablo Rawden (Eng) v Sam Burton (Eng)

[2] Jonathan Kemp (Eng) v Bye


Second Round – Women’s Draw:

[1] Jaclyn Kemp (Nzl) v Mari Taylor (Eng) / Jess Dixon (Eng)

Alison Thomson (Eng) v [3] Taylor Flavell (Aus)

[4] Lily Taylor (Eng) v Roxanna Keshavarz (Eng)

[2] Victoria Temple-Murray (Eng) v Emily Ison (Eng) / Ali Hemingway (Eng)


Read more

Latest News