Sunday, April 21, 2024

Qualifiers set for action at Tournament of Champions

Top seeds await qualifying results as international field descends on New York

By MICHAEL CATLING – Squash Mad Reporter

The first qualifying round of the PSA World Series J.P. Morgan Tournament of Champions gets underway at the Princeton Club in New York today, with 32 competitors vying for just eight spots in the main draw.

World number 24 Marwan Elshorbagy, brother of Mohamed, is the highest-ranked player required to qualify for the first World Series event of the year and will meet Joe Chapman of the British Virgin Islands in the first of two preliminary rounds.

The English quartet of Adrian Waller, Charles Sharpes, Eddie Charlton and Bradley Ball will be looking to join seven of their compatriots in the main draw, while Max Lee and Leo Au are tasked with ensuring there is Hong Kong representation in the last 32. 

In an all-Egyptian clash, world number 35 Mohd Ali Anwar Reda (pictured right) meets Mohamed Abouelghar in a repeat of their qualifying encounter at the Qatar Classic in November. 

Elsewhere, Christopher Gordon and Mike Lewis will compete for American bragging rights in one of 16 first round qualifying matches.

France’s Gregoire Marche, who progressed into the second round of the 2013 edition last year, opens his campaign against Canadian Dane Sharp, while seven-time Swiss National champion Nicolas Mueller faces off against Bradbury Thompson.

Scotland’s Alan Clyne, world number 31 Omar Abdel Meguid and Australian Ryan Cuskelly will also be in action at the $115,000 event, with the latter hoping to advance into his seventh successive World Series first round.

Men’s First Qualifying Round:

Nicolas Mueller (SUI) v Bradbury Thompson (USA)
Leo Au (HKG) v Shahier Razik (CAN)
Mohd Nafiizwan Adnan (MAS) v Muhd Asyraf Azan (MAS)
Alan Clyne (SCO) v Farhan Zaman (PAK)
Ryan Cuskelly (AUS) v Ali Farag (EGY)
Cesar Salazar (MEX) v Samuel Kang (SIN)
Christopher Gordon (USA) v Mike Lewis (USA)
Omar Abdel Meguid (EGY) v Adrian Leanza (USA)
Marwan Elshorbagy (EGY) v Joe Chapman (IVB)
Omar Abdel Aziz (EGY) v Eddie Charlton (ENG)
Mohd Ali Anwar Reda (EGY) v Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY)
Max Lee (HKG) v Bradley Ball (ENG)
Adrian Waller (ENG) v Faraz Khan (USA)
Campbell Grayson (NZL) v Yasir Ali Butt (PAK)
Julian Illingworth (USA) v Charles Sharpes (ENG)
Gregoire Marche (FRA) v Dane Sharp (CAN)

Picture by Michael Catling

Read more

Latest News