Saturday, May 25, 2024

China Open bigger than ever in 2016

Reigning China champion Gregory Gaultier
Reigning China champion Gregory Gaultier

Stars head for Shanghai


The 2016 Stars On The Bund China Open is set to be the biggest professional squash tournament ever to take place in China after it was announced that prize money for this year’s event will increase, with $100,000 on offer in the Men’s tournament and $70,000 in the Women’s competition.

A plethora of the world’s top players, including Men’s World No.1 Mohamed ElShorbagy, World Champion Gregory Gaultier, Women’s World No.2 Laura Massaro and No.3 Raneem El Welily, will compete for the title in Shanghai – with the action set to get under way on September 1.

“We’re delighted to see such a strong entry list,” said tournament director Franco Amadei.

“Since first staging the Stars On The Bund China Open in 2014, thanks to the great support of players and sponsors, we have honoured the promise to improve the tournament year-on-year.”

With an astonishing location for the glass court on the 11th floor terrace of The Peninsula Shanghai offering one of the most beautiful and iconic views of the city, the tournament continues to attract the world’s best players and is increasing the popularity of squash in China.

“By bringing a world-class squash event to Shanghai once a year, we hope we can inspire a new generation of squash fans and players here in China, contributing also to the growth of the sport across the region,” added Mr Li Sheng, Founder and CEO of promoter SECA. 

The 2016 Stars On The Bund China Open

Men’s First Round Draw

[1] Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY) v [WC] Junjie Wang (CHN)

[Qualifier] v [5] Mathieu Castagnet (FRA)

[8] Borja Golan (ESP) v Fares Dessouky (EGY)

Cameron Pilley (AUS) v [3] Omar Mosaad (EGY)

[4] Miguel Angel Rodriguez (COL) v Saurav Ghosal (IND)

[Qualifier] v [6] Karim Abdel Gawad (EGY)

[7] Tarek Momen (EGY) v [Qualifier]

[Qualifier] v [2] Gregory Gaultier (FRA)

Women’s First Round Draw

[1] Laura Massaro (ENG) v [Qualifier]

[Qualifier] v [5] Joshna Chinappa (IND)

[7] Sarah-Jane Perry (ENG) v Emily Whitlock (ENG)

Jenny Duncalf (ENG) v [4] Joelle King (NZL)

[3] Nouran Gohar (EGY) v [Qualifier]

[Qualifier] v [6] Annie Au (HKG)

[8] Alison Waters (ENG) v Victoria Lust (ENG)

[WC] Li Dongjin (CHN) v [2] Raneem El Welily (EGY) 

Picture courtesy of PSA 


Read more

Latest News