Tuesday, February 7, 2023

Omar Meguid takes Qatar Circuit title

Omar Meguid and Jens Schoor in Qatar
Omar Meguid (right) and Jens Schoor in Qatar

Egyptian powerhouse beats Germany’s Jens Schoor in Qatar final


Number one seed Omar Abdel Meguid ended 2015 on a high by securing his first PSA World Tour title of the year courtesy of a resounding victory over Germany’s Jens Schoor in the final of the Qatar Circuit II, PSA M15 event.

The World No.35 was helped along the way by an injury to his semi-final opponent, Iker Pajares Bernabeu, which meant that Meguid could get off the court before two games had elapsed, ensuring he had fresh legs for the final encounter.

Schoor, on the other hand, was forced into a fourth game by Malaysia’s Ivan Yuen but eased to victory without dropping a point in the final game.

Meguid started the match on the front foot and dictated the tempo of the fixture, moving Schoor around the court cleverly and attacking whenever he was presented with some space.

This approach paid immediate dividends and the 27-year-old Egyptian quickly rose into a two-game advantage to put himself on the cusp of victory.

Despite a resurgence from Schoor in the third and final game, Meguid had too much for his opponent and sealed the win by an 11-5, 11-6, 11-8 scoreline to lift his ninth career PSA World Tour and leave Schoor ruing a second successive final defeat in this season’s Qatar Circuit.

Result – Final: Qatar Circuit II 2015

[1] Omar Abdel Meguid (EGY) bt [5] Jens Schoor (GER) 3-0: 11-5, 11-6, 11-8 (30 mins) 

[1] Omar Abdel Meguid (EGY) bt [Q] Iker Pajares Bernabeu (ESP) 11-5, 9-1 ret.
[5] Jens Schoor (GER) bt [2] Ivan Yuen (MAS) 11-2, 11-9, 4-11, 11-0 (42m)

[1] Omar Abdel Meguid (EGY) bt [Q] Youssef Soliman (EGY) 11-3, 11-7, 11-6 (39m)
[Q] Iker Pajares Bernabeu (ESP) bt [3] Danish Atlas Khan (PAK) 11-7, 5-11, 11-5, 5-11, 11-8 (64m)
[5] Jens Schoor (GER) bt [4] Martin Knight (NZL) 14-16, 11-7, 11-3, 11-6 (61m)
[2] Ivan Yuen (MAS) bt [Q] Abdullah Al Muzayen (KUW) 11-8, 8-11, 5-11, 11-7, 11-8 (63m)

1st round:
[1] Omar Abdel Meguid (EGY) bt [WC] Syed Azlan Amjad (QAT) 11-5, 11-7, 11-7 (21m)
[Q] Youssef Soliman (EGY) bt [8] Khawaja Adil Maqbool (PAK) 11-8, 3-0 ret.
[Q] Iker Pajares Bernabeu (ESP) bt [6] Abdulla Mohd Al Tamimi (QAT) 10-12, 6-11, 11-9, 11-3, 11-8 (52m)
[3] Danish Atlas Khan (PAK) bt Ammar Altamimi (KUW) 11-5, 4-11, 7-11, 12-10, 11-5 (57m)
[4] Martin Knight (NZL) bt [Q] Edmon Lopez Moller (ESP) 6-11, 11-9, 11-9, 14-12 (77m)
[5] Jens Schoor (GER) bt Robert Downer (ENG) 11-2, 11-6, 11-3 (31m)
[Q] Abdullah Al Muzayen (KUW) bt [7] Mazen Gamal (EGY) 9-11, 11-9, 11-7, 9-11, 11-8 (78m)
[2] Ivan Yuen (MAS) bt Addeen Idrakie (MAS) 11-5, 11-8, 9-11, 11-6 (43m)

Qualifying finals:
Edmon Lopez Moller (ESP) bt Brian Byrne (IRL) 7-11, 11-5, 11-4, 6-11, 11-8 (61m)
Iker Pajares Bernabeu (ESP) bt Abdulwahab Al-Ishaq (QAT) 11-3, 11-2, 11-3 (20m)
Youssef Soliman (EGY) bt Moses Durosinmi (NGR) 11-1, 11-7, 11-1 (17m)
Abdullah Al Muzayen (KUW) bt Belal Nawar (EGY) 12-10, 11-3, 11-2 (23m)

1st qualifying round:
Edmon Lopez Moller (ESP) bt Abdulrahman Al-Malki (QAT) 11-5, 11-6, 11-1 (24m)
Brian Byrne (IRL) bt Jamal Al-Barwani (OMA) 13-15, 11-7, 11-8, 11-3 (48m)
Abdulwahab Al-Ishaq (QAT) bt Abbas Maniar (USA) 11-7, 11-7, 10-12, 12-10 (35m)
Iker Pajares Bernabeu (ESP) bt Ali Miski (LIB) 11-4, 11-4, 11-4 (19m)
Youssef Soliman (EGY) bt Muhammad Farhan (PAK) 11-2, 11-3, 11-5 (21m)
Moses Durosinmi (NGR) bt Umair Zaman (QAT) 8-11, 11-4, 11-8, 7-11, 11-7 (47m)
Belal Nawar (EGY) bt Asim Khan (PAK) 11-3, 11-5, 11-9 (31m)
Abdullah Al Muzayen (KUW) bt Mohammad Jafari (IRI) 12-10, 11-4, 17-15 (28m)

Picture by 


Related articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest articles