Monday, July 15, 2024

Upsets galore in Qatar qualifying finals

Greg Lobban beats Zahed Mohamed
Greg Lobban beats Zahed Mohamed

Greg Lobban zips past Zahed into main draw


The main draws for the 2015 Qatar Classic, PSA World Series Men’s and Women’s tournaments, have been finalised following a climactic day of qualification encounters that was overflowing with shock victories and huge upsets from the off.

In the women’s draw, the first elite level women’s tournament to take place in Qatar since 2011, top seeded qualifier and former World No.13 Donna Urquart of Australia was the first shock casualty, bowing out after a gripping five-game encounter with 18-year-old Egyptian World No.57 Mayar Hany.

“It’s my first time at at a major tournament and I never thought I would qualify for such a big event especially against a player of Donna’s calibre,” said Hany.

She was joined by fellow compatriots and surprise victors Hania El Hammamy, Nadine Shahin, Amina Yousry and Menna Nasser, who all upset the seedings to book their berths in the first round – the first time that any of the quintet will have appeared in a PSA World Series main draw.

England’s Fiona Moverley was also a surprise winner, defeating fancied Egyptian player Mariam Metwally 3-0 while in the men’s draw Ali Farag produced the biggest upset of the day, overcoming compatriot Omar Abdel Meguid, ranked seven places higher than him at No.28, 3-1 to make the main draw.

Scotland’s Greg Lobban also prospered at the Khalifa Tennis and Squash Complex, defeating talented Egyptian Zahed Mohamed in a bruising 3-2 battle to join fellow Scotsman Alan Clyne in the main draw after the top seeded qualifier eased past Joe Lee. 

Qatar Classic 2015.

Men’s Qualifying Finals:
[1] Alan Clyne (SCO) bt [12] Joe Lee (ENG) 3-0: 11-4, 11-4, 11-4
[6] Leo Au (HKG) bt Abdullah Al Muzayen (KUW) 3-2: 6-11, 11-4, 10-12, 11-9, 11-2
[10] Greg Lobban (SCO) bt [7] Zahed Mohamed (EGY) 3-2: 11-9, 8-11, 5-11, 11-7, 13-11
[14] Ali Farag (EGY) bt [4] Omar Abdel Meguid (EGY) 3-1: 9-11, 11-7, 11-6, 11-5
[3] Gregoire Marche (FRA) bt [13] Nasir Iqbal (PAK) 3-1: 8-11, 11-7, 11-8, 11-7
[5] Nafiizwan Adnan (MAS) bt [15] Olli Tuominen (FIN) 3-0: 11-7, 11-4, 11-7
[8] Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY) bt [9] Raphael Kandra (GER) 3-2: 11-5, 10-12, 11-8, 9-11, 11-4
[2] Ryan Cuskelly (AUS) bt Charles Sharpes (ENG) 3-0: 15-13, 11-5, 11-6

Main Draw – Men’s Qatar Classic: PSA World Series
[1] Mohamed Elshorbagy (EGY) v [WC] Abdulla Mohd Al Tamimi (QAT)
James Willstrop (ENG) v [Q] Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY)
Max Lee (HKG) v [Q] Greg Lobban (SCO)
Stephen Coppinger (RSA) v [5] Simon Rösner (GER)
[7] Mathieu Castagnet (FRA) v [Q] Ryan Cuskelly (AUS)
Marwan Elshorbagy (EGY) v Chris Simpson (ENG)
Adrian Waller (ENG) v Nicolas Mueller (SUI)
Cameron Pilley (AUS) v [3] Miguel Angel Rodriguez (COL)
[4] Omar Mosaad (EGY) v [Q] Leo Au (HKG)
Mazen Hesham (EGY) v [Q] Nafiizwan Adnan (MAS)
Daryl Selby (ENG) v [Q] Alan Clyne (SCO)
[Q] Ali Farag (EGY) v [6] Peter Barker (ENG)
[8] Tarek Momen (EGY) v Karim Abdel Gawad (EGY)
Tom Richards (ENG) v [Q] Gregoire Marche (FRA)
Fares Dessouki (EGY) v Saurav Ghosal (IND)
Borja Golan (ESP) v [2] Gregory Gaultier (FRA)

Women’s Qualifying Finals:
[12] Mayar Hany (EGY) bt [1] Donna Urquhart (AUS) 3-2: 7-11, 12-10, 11-6, 9-11, 11-8
[6] Coline Aumard (FRA) bt [11] Millie Tomlinson (ENG) 3-1: 11-3, 11-8, 8-11, 12-10
[9] Nadine Shahin (EGY) bt [5] Milou van der Heijden (NED) 3-0: 11-7, 11-7, 11-8
[3] Olivia Blatchford (USA) bt [15] Lee Ka Yi (HKG) 3-0: 11-5, 11-7, 11-9
[10] Fiona Moverley (ENG) bt [4] Mariam Metwally (EGY) 3-0: 12-10, 11-5, 11-8
Amina Yousry (EGY) bt [13] Sina Wall (GER) 3-0: 11-6, 11-4, 11-8
[14] Hania El Hammamy (EGY) bt [7] Nouran El Torky (EGY) 3-2: 11-9, 11-6, 3-11, 6-11, 11-4
[16] Menna Nasser (EGY) bt [2] Misaki Kobayashi (JPN) 7-11, 11-6, 11-7, 3-4 retired

Main Draw – Women’s Qatar Classic: PSA World Series
[1] Raneem El Welily (EGY) v Joshana Chinappa (IND)
Yathreb Adel (EGY) v [12] Dipika Pallikal (IND)
[10] Sarah-Jane Perry (ENG) v Habiba Mohamed (EGY)
Line Hansen (DEN) v [5] Omneya Abdel Kawy (EGY)
[8] Nouran Gohar (EGY) v [Q] Nadine Shahin (EGY)
[Q] Amina Yousry (EGY) v [13] Emily Whitlock (ENG)
[15] Salma Hany Ibrahim (EGY) v [Q] Fiona Moverley (ENG)
[Q] Menna Nasser (EGY) v [4] Laura Massaro (ENG)
[3] Camille Serme (FRA) v [Q] Coline Aumard (FRA)
[Q] Hania El Hammamy (EGY) v [14] Amanda Sobhy (USA)
[9] Rachael Grinham (AUS) v Heba El Torky (EGY)
[Q] Olivia Blatchford (USA) v [6] Nour El Sherbini (EGY)
[7] Annie Au (HKG) v Joey Chan (HKG)
[Q] Mayar Hany (EGY) v [11] Jenny Duncalf (ENG)
[16] Victoria Lust (ENG) v Tesni Evans (WAL)
Nicolette Fernandes (GUY) v [2] Nicol David (MAS)


Read more

Latest News